Sometimes My Brain Hates Me

There are times when I want to be creative and write something witty or poetic. But my brain hates me, and I cannot think of anything funny or beautiful to say. Because sometimes words fail us. And since I’m not so great at drawing or painting or sculpting I guess in this case words and actions both fail me. I once drew a horse, and my friend asked me if the horse was supposed to be dying. He said it looked sick. (In case you thought I was exaggerating about not being able to draw.) 20160724_153542

(Wow, that horse has a huge butt!) And That’s why my blogs are written three months apart instead of three days apart (like I would really like to do) because sometimes words fail me. Because. My. Brain. Hates. Me. Y’all. Some writers, Ahem…Jenny Lawson, always seem to be either witty or inspirational pretty much 24/7, and I love them for it.( I also hate them a little for it, because why can’t I be like that? And come on Jenny, you’re just naturally awesome.) So I have decided that I am going to try to write more. Even when my brain hates me; even when words fail me; and even when writing is the last thing I feel like doing. Because writing feels like life. Writing feels like not giving up. Writing feels like no matter how crappy the crap is that I’m crapping out right this minute maybe the next sentence I type will be better. And the sentence after that might be better still. Until one day maybe I will have a whole blog post of great sentences. And then a book full of them. And when that happens maybe I won’t feel like I’m just pretending to be a writer. Maybe I will stop doubting my abilities and realize that I am pretty good at this stuff sometimes. And maybe not. One thing about life though, it’s better to look back and say that you tried, and failed, than it is to say you never had the courage to try at all. I only have a smidge more courage than the cowardly lion, but I won’t get more courageous by hiding in the dark. So these are my words, this is the light I bring to the world, and I really hope you like it.

 

Published by

Felicity Marie

I graduated from Nicholls State University in 2010 with a Bachelor's Degree in English. I have always had a passion for writing.

Leave a Reply

