Adventures in Pokèmon Go

Most people know what “Pokèmon Go” is by now, but here is a summary in case you don’t. Pokèmon are fictional creatures that were first introduced in 1995 with video games designed for the original Game Boy. Pokèmon has evolved since then into television shows, movies, and other games. “Pokèmon Go” is an app that you can download on your smart phone. The basics of the game are that a player has to physically walk around, and pokèmon will pop up. The player has to use pokèballs to catch the pokèmon. The players catch and evolve pokèmon to build their pokèdex. Random statues and places have been designated as pokèstops all over the place. Now that you know the basic gist of the game let me tell you about my experiences with “Pokèmon Go.”

Some co-workers and I were talking about “Pokèmon Go” and various pokèstops that are near where we work. On of them said that a certain graveyard in town was a pokèstop. This got me thinking. Now I was imagining going to a graveyard, and being all like: “Excuse me, Mr. Dead Guy, I’m sorry I’m standing on your head, but I’m trying to catch this wild charmander.” And now I’m haunted, because Mr. Dead Guy was not okay with me standing on his head to catch Pokèmon, so he followed me home to punish me for all eternity. (Or at least until I die and become a ghost myself.) I mean, if I’m going to be haunted, I would rather it be for something good instead of just because I was tramping on dead people to catch pokèmon. All this went on in my head. Which is why I will not be going pokèmon hunting in any graveyards.

Then a few days later I found my first pokèstop. I didn’t know what I was supposed to do with the pokèstop, but there it was. The following is a text conversation I had with my brother while I was attempting to figure out how pokèstops work. Enjoy.

2016-08-05_09.10.032016-08-05_09.11.452016-08-05_09.12.30

Leave a Reply

